Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA 2017): See The Full List Of Winners (See Here)



Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) is an annual accolade presented by Multichoice recognizing outstanding achievement in television and film. Entries into the award ceremony are films and TV series that have been aired on Dstv Channels in the previous year.

The just concluded 2017 Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA) saw Izu Ojukwu‘s ’76 take home the most awards (five), including Best Overall Movie, Best Director and Best Actress.

Take a look at the full list of winners from the ceremony which took place at Eko Hotels, Lagos on Saturday, March 4, 2017.
Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series)

Elliot Sewape – 93 Days
Best Cinematographer

Lance Gewer – Happiness is a Four Letter Word

Best Short Film or Online Video

Cat Face – Ogo Okpue
Best Documentary

Alison – Uga Carlini
Best Actress in a Comedy

Deborah Anungwa – Hustle
Best Actress in a Comedy

Samuel Ajibola – Johnsons
Best Actress in a Drama

Meg Otanwa – Hush
Best Actor in a Drama

David Jones David – Hotel Majestic
Best Comedy Series

Best Drama Series

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili)

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Yoruba)

Somewhere in the Dark – Jumoke Odetola and Abiodun Jimoh

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Igbo)

Amonye Bu Onye – Crey Ahanonu
Best Soundtrack/Original Score

Michael Ogunlade – The Encounter

Best TV Series

Jenifa’s Diary – Funke Akindele
Best Writer(s) in a Movie or TV Series

Craig Freimond, Tshabalira Lebakeng, Anthony Mafela, David Majoka, Madoda Ntuli, Harriet Perlman and Robbie Thorpe – Vaya
Best Supporting Actress

Ebele Okaro Onyuike – Four One Love
Best Supporting Actor

Rotimi Salami – Just Not Married
Best Actress in a Comedy Movie or TV Series

Funke Akindele – Jenifa’s Diary
Best Make-up Artist (Movie/TV Series)

Hakeem Onilogbo Ajibola and Perekeme Odon – Oloibiri
Best Costume Design

Pat Egwurube – ’76
Best Art Director

Pat Nebo- ‘76
Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series)

Guy Steer – Vaya
Best Picture Editor (Movie/TV Series)

Nnodim Chigozie and Paula Peterson – Oloibiri
Best Actor in a Comedy Movie or TV Series

Imeh Bishop Umoh – The Boss Is Mine
AMVCA Trailblazer Award

Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama
AMVCA Industry Merit Award

Chika ‘Zebrudaya’ Okpala
Best Movie (East Africa)

Kati Kati – Sarika Hemi Lakhani
Best Movie (West Africa)

Oloibiri – Rogers Ofime
Best Movie (Southern Africa)

All About Love – Elvis Chuks
Best Actress in a Movie or TV Series

Rita Dominic – ’76
Best Actor in a Movie or TV Series

Sambasa Nzeribe – Slow Country
Best Director

Izu Ojukwu – ’76
Best Overall Movie

’76 – Adonijah Owiriwa and Izu Ojukwu



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here