Cameroon Grab Just a Win out of 13 Nominations at the 2018 AFRIMMA. See The full list of winners 2018


The 2018 Annual African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA)  has produced a new set of winners this year as went down at House of Blues in Dallas Texas with heavyweights in the African music industry battling out for the top accolades.

However, The Cameroon Music Industry did not perform well this year, out of 13 Nominations of 10 Nominated artists, just an award was bagged by a Cameroonian.

Daphne Afrimma 2018 WIn.jpg

Some of its winners are familiar across the continent. These include Wizkid, Fally Ipupa, and Yemi Alade. Some of the others are not quite as popular. These include Uganda’s Sheebah Karungi, who was named Best Female East African act, and Best Newcomer winner Ykee Benda, also from Uganda.

Nasty C won the Best Male Artist South Africa category and Davido won that category’s West African equivalent. Popstar Wizkid won Song of the Year for ‘Soco‘, his hit song recorded with members of his Starboy group. The song’s video also won in the Video of the Year category.

Perhaps the ceremony’s main surprise winner was Nigeria’s Burna Boy. In the past, he has commented about not winning awards. On the night of the 2018 AFRIMMA ceremony, he was named Best African Dancehall/Reggae act.

The full list of winners below:


Best Male West Africa

  • Davido – Nigeria

Best Female West Africa

  • Yemi Alade – Nigeria

Best Male East Africa

  • Eddy Kenzo – Uganda

Best Female East Africa

  • Sheebah Karungi – Uganda

Best Male Central Africa

  • Fally Ipupa – Congo

Best Female Central Africa

  • Daphne – Cameroon

Best Male Southern Africa

  • Nasty C – South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa

  • Ammara Brown – Zimbabwe

Best Male North Africa

  • Ihab Amir – Morroco

Best Female North Africa

  • Souhila Ben Lachhab – Algeria

Best African Group

  • Toofan – Togo

Crossing Boundaries With Music Award

  • MHD – Senegal/ France

Best Gospel

  • Papa Dennis – Kenya

Best Newcomer

  • Ykee Benda – Uganda

Artist of the Year

  • Fally Ipupa – DRC

Best Live Act

  • Flavour – Nigeria

Best DJ Africa

  • DJ Dollar – Senegal

Best African DJ USA

  • DJ Ecool – Nigeria

AFRIMMA Video of the Year

  • Wizkid – Soco

Music Producer of The Year

  • Masterkraft – Nigeria

Best African Dancer

  • Didi Emah – Nigeria

Best Rap Act

  • Khaligraph Jones – Kenya

Song of the Year

  • Wizkid – ‘Soco’

Best Lusophone

  • Kyaku Kyadaff – Angola

Best Francophone

  • Toofan – Togo

Best African Dancehall/Reggae Act

  • Burna Boy – Nigeria




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here